For a better experience on Energy Sector Regulation, update your browser.


OfReg’s website regarding Energy is a Statutory Authority of the Government of the Cayman Islands and falls under the Ministry of Planning, Lands, Agriculture, Housing and Infrastructure. The ERA is established under the Electricity Regulatory Authority Law (2010 Revision) ("the Law"). A Board of Directors, appointed by the Governor-in-Cabinet of the Cayman Islands, directs the work of the ERA. The principal functions of the ERA are defined in the Law and its accompanying Regulations. Under Section 89 of the Law, the ERA has the authority to establish rules and procedures for licensees. The ERA must also comply with the terms of the Electricity Law (2008),and Freedom Of Information Law, 2007  and the  Public Management and Finance Law (2010 Revision).